[Members] Second extended call for X.Org Board nominations

Barton C Massey bart at cs.pdx.edu
Wed Dec 12 12:10:50 EST 2007

As many of you are aware, the initial announcements of the
nomination period for the upcoming X.Org Foundation Board
election were inadvertently not sent to the X.Org members'
email list, although they were sent to the public list.  The
Election Committee thus reopened nominations.  However, when
the second announcement was sent to the members' email list,
the list server malfunctioned, delaying the message until
after the close of the nomination period.

Having received several complaints about this, the Election
Committee has voted to reopen the nominations for a suitable
period, so that those members who were not aware of the
earlier nomination periods can participate.  Those who were
nominated in earlier rounds need not be nominated again.

If someone on the xorg list sees a problem with this third
announcement, please send email right away to bart at
cs.pdx.edu, so that the problem can be promptly resolved.
Thanks very much for your attention to this, and for your
patience in what is proving to be a difficult process.

Nominees will have 24 hours from the time that nominations
close to submit their personal statements and, if needed,
membership applications.  Thus, it is important that those
who are nominating do so sooner rather than later.

Nominations for the 2007 X.Org Foundation Board of Directors
election are currently open and will remain open until 23.59
UTC on Monday, 17 December 2007.  All X.Org Foundation
members are eligible for election to the board, and there is
still time to apply for membership before the deadline.

The Board consists of Directors elected from the membership.
Each Director is elected to serve a two-year term.  Each
year, an election is held to bring the total number of
Directors to eight.  There are currently four Directors
(Stuart Anderson, Stuart Kreitman, Kevin Martin, and Jim
McQuillan) whose current term terminates in 2007, and four
Directors (Egbert Eich, Bart Massey, Keith Packard, and
Daniel Stone) whose current term continues through 2008.  We
thus need at least four nominees to fill the 2008 roster.

Directors are expected to participate in regular email list
discussions, IRC chats and conference calls to discuss
current business.  Directors are required to attend (at
Foundation expense if necessary) the annual meeting of the
X.Org Foundation, which will be held early in 2008 at a
location to be determined by the Board of Directors.
Directors are also encouraged to attend other official X.Org
meetings and X-related events.

Nominations must be made by a current X.Org member in good
standing.  A member may nominate themselves or any other
member they feel is qualified.  Nominations should be sent
to the Election Committee at:

             elections at x.org

Nominees shall be required to be current members of the
X.Org Foundation by the time the election is held, and to
submit a personal statement of up to 200 words that will be
provided to prospective voters.  The collected statements,
along with the statement of contribution to the X.Org
Foundation submitted in the membership application, will be
made available to all voters to help them make their voting

Note that membership in the X.Org Foundation is required to
be elected to the Board.  Nominees must satisfy the
membership criteria by the end of the nomination period.

Nominations, membership application or renewal and completed
personal statements must be received no later than 23.59 UTC
on Sunday, 9 December 2007.

Please feel free to forward or repost this message as

The Election Committee
X.Org Foundation

More information about the members mailing list